Magid: iPhone 6 Plus or Android: Which is best?

(FILES) This September 19, 2014 file photo shows a man as he checks out his iPhone 6 Plus outside the Apple store in Pasadena, California.

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been carrying around two cellphones:

An iPhone 6 Plus and one of several Android phones, including the LG G3, Samsung Galaxy S5, HTC One and the Google Nexus 5.

My purpose in switching between all these phones was to answer the question “which one is best?” And, after my testing, I’ve come to a definitive conclusion: It depends.

While Apple is the clear winner when it comes to the sheer number of articles and blog posts written about its products, it doesn’t necessarily make the best phones on the market. I’m not complaining. The iPhone 6 Plus I’m using is an excellent phone, but so are some of the competitors.

When you cut through the hype, all smartphones do basically the same things. They make phone calls, take and share pictures, track your location and guide you on your way, let you send and receive texts and run apps, which is where most of the magic happens.

To me, smartphones are a bit like cars. Some are bigger, some are more energy efficient and some are more elegantly designed, but what’s important isn’t so much the car you drive, but where you’re driving it to.

I care a lot more about the road I’m on and what I see through my car’s windshield than the car itself.

 

Leave a Reply

